Home: Maucher Jenkins

Intellectual Property


Patents | Trade Marks | Designs

News and Events


Registration of Granted UK or EP Patents in Various Jurisdictions Worldwide

Date: 1 December 2015

Sometimes the local patent is called a confirmation patent or a patent of importation. The procedure provides Applicants with simple and cost-effective protection for their patent rights in jurisdictions which they might not otherwise necessarily consider including in their patent portfolios.


In general, a registration of UK national patent worldwide has to be applied for within 3 years from the date of grant of the UK patent, but there are some exceptions and we urge you to enquire with us if this may be important to you.


[As an alternative to registration of a foreign patent, some countries have independent patent systems with a mere "local novelty" requirement for patentability, although these are becoming less and less important as the information revolution conveys knowledge around the world. In such countries a local national patent application may be available if the invention still has local novelty. If this is of interest, it is important to act quickly - without waiting for the UK patent to proceed to grant - or local novelty may be destroyed by others out of your control.]



 UK or EP (UK)Any foreign patent
Caribbean • Cayman Islands 
• Grenada 
• Guyana 
• Leeward Islands 
• Anguilla 
• Montserrat 
• British Virgin Islands 
• St Lucia (UK patent only)
• Turks and Caicos Islands (5 years)
• Haiti 
• Jamaica
Asia-Pacific • Brunei Darussalam (can also register patent of Malaya or Singapore)
• Fiji
• Hong Kong 
• Kiribati
• Nauru (can also register Australian or US patent)
• Solomon Islands
• Tuvalu
• Samoa 
• Nepal
Africa/Indian Ocean/Middle East • Seychelles 
• Sierra Leone 
• Zanzibar (UK patent only)
• Burundi 
• Democratic Republic of the Congo 
• Ethiopia 
• Iran 
• Kuwait 
• Rwanda
Black Sea

• Bermuda 
• Cyprus (phasing out – depends on filing date) 
• Gibraltar 
• Jersey

• Guernsey
• Falkland Islands

• St Helena 
• Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

• Georgia


Updated December 2015.