Home: Maucher Jenkins

Intellectual Property

Patents | Trade Marks | Designs

News and Events


Registration Of Granted UK Or EP(UK) Patents In Various Jurisdictions Worldwide

Date: 1 December 2015

 Sometimes the local patent is called a confirmation patent or a patent of importation. The procedure provides Applicants with simple and cost-effective protection for their patent rights in jurisdictions which they might not otherwise necessarily consider including in their patent portfolios.

In general, a registration of UK national patent worldwide has to be applied for within 3 years from the date of grant of the UK patent, but there are some exceptions and we urge you to enquire with us if this may be important to you.


[As an alternative to registration of a foreign patent, some countries have independent patent systems with a mere "local novelty" requirement for patentability, although these are becoming less and less important as the information revolution conveys knowledge around the world. In such countries a local national patent application may be available if the invention still has local novelty. If this is of interest, it is important to act quickly - without waiting for the UK patent to proceed to grant - or local novelty may be destroyed by others out of your control.]



 UK or EP (UK)Any foreign patent
Caribbean • Cayman Islands 
• Grenada 
• Guyana 
• Leeward Islands 
• Anguilla 
• Montserrat 
• British Virgin Islands 
• St Lucia (UK patent only)
• Turks and Caicos Islands (5 years)
• Haiti 
• Jamaica
Asia-Pacific • Brunei Darussalam (can also register patent of Malaya or Singapore)
• Fiji
• Hong Kong 
• Kiribati
• Nauru (can also register Australian or US patent)
• Solomon Islands
• Tuvalu
• Samoa 
• Nepal
Africa/Indian Ocean/Middle East • Seychelles 
• Sierra Leone 
• Zanzibar (UK patent only)
• Burundi 
• Democratic Republic of the Congo 
• Ethiopia 
• Iran 
• Kuwait 
• Rwanda
Black Sea

• Bermuda 
• Cyprus (phasing out – depends on filing date) 
• Gibraltar 
• Jersey

• Guernsey
• Falkland Islands

• St Helena 
• Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

• Georgia


Updated December 2015.

This site uses cookies.

Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us to improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used. For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.